Making a wicking box

on

As usual, Bev says, and shows, in a few easy steps, what it takes me about 2000 words to ramble on about. Go forth and maketh thyself some wicking tubs folks. You won’t regret it, especially if you live somewhere that water is an issue and summer heat rises up above the “bearable”. Conserving water is the aim of these wicking beds but inevitably, the veggies grown in wicking beds are much happier as they are watered on demand, there isn’t that endless round of watering that we poor Aussies have to go through for months on end and it’s a win-win situation for both plants and their human tenders. “Kudos Bev”. My guru 🙂

Foodnstuff

It’s been a while since I posted my method of making a wicking box and with some re-arranging of things on the deck, I found I had room for one more box there, making five in all. I’ve slightly varied the method so thought I’d go through it again.

The boxes I use are black plastic crates from Bunnings. I went for black rather than clear plastic, because algae will grow in wet soil when it can get light and I didn’t want ‘green’ sides to all my boxes. I thought the black colour would be an advantage in winter (warmer soil) but might not be so good in summer, though they could be easily shielded from the sun. They’re 60 cm long, 40 cm wide and 25 cm deep; not quite as deep as I would have liked at the time, although there are deeper ones available now, but…

View original post 901 more words

6 Comments Add yours

  1. I think I read this post when it first came out and was inspired. But with the amount of rain we are having this spring I don’t think watering the garden is going to be an issue ……… Sigh!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. narf7 says:

      Same here. It just starts to dry out and it rains again BUT give it a month and we won’t remember the concept of “rain” and we will all be wishing for autumn again (at least here in Australia 😉 ). Bev tarted up her post and added some new bits, especially how to use items other than rocks and geotextile fabric to create wicking beds. Most people believe you need them. You apparently don’t and the man that invented wicked water beds doesn’t use geotextile or rocks, he goes by the way that Bev makes them and now, “I” make them as well so I thought I should share the alternative to the norm and the MUCH cheaper way to build wicking beds as geotextile and rocks etc. is a very expensive way to do it. If you have a lot of woody debris (“hello…Serendipity Farm!” 😉 ) this is the most economical way to build a wicking bed.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Littlesundog says:

    I read the original post… and showed it to FD but alas, we’ve done nothing to try this in our neck of the woods. Woody debris??? We have and endless supply!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. narf7 says:

      Just think of it as raised beds on water wise steroids. We are just about to completely convert our veggie growing system to this method using old fridges. We are starting our “empire” with 24 old fridges and freezers that we salvaged from the tip shop and will probably add to that number as we start planting them out. We see a lot of promise in using fridge wickers to grow veggies, especially in water savings. The woody debris bit made us laugh as well. Bev (the author of the article) has a property, a bit smaller than ours, and has a surplus of woody debris as well so why not make the most of a free resource you just have laying around?

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Linne says:

    Hi, Naedie! I’m just beginning to catch up a bit with friends from the Village.This is an interesting and potentially useful post, although where I am for now it’s almost winter and we’ve had tonnes of rain. Wish I could send some to you next month when I assume you will be drying out a bit. I like the same idea, but using old bathtubs, partly because they have a drain built in, which can be useful. HOpe to use some of your knowledge one day. Hugs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. narf7 says:

      Bathtubs are like hens teeth over here Linne ever since permaculture took off. Everyone scoops them up for worm farms and “ponds” now and you pay $20 each for them at the tip shop. For $20 I get 10 fridges and am saving them from going into landfill AND saving council having to pay someone to pick them up and scrap them. Good to see you again and I will take you up on that offer of “rain” in about a month 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

